Musical Interlude

I used to post, quite often, about the best music deals I found on Amazon.

For me, music is a big part of my creative process. I don’t always listen to music as I write (though, sometimes, I create a sort of soundtrack for a story, especially in the editing phases) but music dramatically influences everything I write. The best music moves me emotionally, sonically, and creates a moving picture in my head.

Amazon has some great artists featured in their $2.99 MP3 album sale right now: Iron & Wine, She & Him, Fleet Foxes, Bon Iver just to name a few.

In fact, there are so many I’d like to buy, I’m not sure where to begin.

If you look through the list and have any favorites, or suggestions for which Iron & Wine to buy, let me know in the comments below, or contact me via email. I need to narrow this list down a bit. Tell me your favorites?

2 thoughts on “Musical Interlude

  1. I often listen to Iron and Wine to write to – it sets the right mood for the thing I’m writing now, but I have to be careful not to listen too closely to the lyrics or I’ll start writing them!
    I saw him a couple of years ago at the End of the Road festival – he was amazing. I have all his music, but my favourite album is Around the Well.

  2. Yes, I go through phases of wanting music when I write, and not wanting it. Instrumental vs songs with lyrics. Classical vs. something more modern. I’m all over the place. Thanks, Claire for your input.
    Here’s what I went with: five albums at 2.99 each….five for one, basically, yes?
    Wye Oak – Civilian
    The National – Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers
    Arcade Fire – The Suburbs
    and, on the Jazz/R&B $2.99 list (which I didn’t link to in this post) I picked up “best of” collections by both Sade and Roberta Flack.
    Sweet!

Leave a Reply

