Book Blurbs, That Aren’t – A Friday Funny

The last few weeks I’ve seen a really encouraging growth of blog traffic. That’s really nice.

Along with higher traffic comes more frequent “spam” comments. So far, the WordPress built-in spam catcher has done a nice job of keeping the comments out of the public eye. (I have it set so that any first-time commenter has to be approved by me.) The comments that are identified as “likely spam” end up in a spam folder, and I check them from time to time, just to be sure some legitimate comment didn’t get accidentally labeled. (It’s only ever happened once, on this blog, but I figure better safe than sorry.)

I don’t know why, but this week I started getting a series of spam comments that encourage me to “Learn a Fake Australian Accent” or “Understand any Australian Accent.” There were ten variations on this theme.

I’m not sure what prompted this wave of Aussie-centric spam. But here are a few of the funnier lines of computer generated (obviously) text.

Say What?

We nowadays planned to show you precisely how a lot this lover plus that i recognize every you will have spoken about to help boost the appeal of this existence in people from this theme.
It happens to be truly a honor in your decent job.
From your content articles, We’ve departed away from simply just a particular inexperienced to the seasoned in the area.
Extremely don’t often should i confront your web blog that is definitely either educative together with fun.
Only desire to explain to you that there is arrive at a claw in the scalp.
A person’s assumed is actually fabulous.
Want to inform you that you have got attack the actual nail plate within the venture.

Make any sense to you?

Book Blurb-worthy

I did come across a couple of these comments that might be worthy to blurb on a future book cover or list in my website’s “What Other People Are Saying” section:

you to add to the significance of the existence for consumers through this style
your article is actually awesome not to mention we could guess you will be a professional on this matter.
Need to declare We are astounded.
a fabulous webpage that may be together educative and also engaging
there is success in the actual toenail to the top of your head

That last one may be my favorite.

I hope you’ve all had a great week. Thanks again for your support, encouragement, questions, and comments. Have a great weekend, and HAPPY WRITING!

3 thoughts on “Book Blurbs, That Aren’t – A Friday Funny

  1. These are definitely spam messages. They are testing your blog to see if they are automatically posted or approved by you.

    If you want this automated spam to go directly in trash use a captcha plugin. I personally work on “Engage user & Anti spam” plugin which is especially useful for writers (can place snippets inside the challenge).

    Nice weekend!

    • I understand that they are spam.
      The messages already go to the trash. I just check occasionally, to be sure a real message didn’t get through.
      I found the spam FUNNY.
      I hate captchas. The built-in WordPress system seems to be working fine, for me.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Pingback: What Is The Opposite of Friendly Friday? Grumpy anti-Friendly Monday? « Stories I Read, Stories I Tell

Leave a Reply

